Aspergers syndrom och schizofreni? :/

Saxat från Asperger Syndrome Awareness-forum på FB:

Anonymous Question Posted by Joanne 
"Is there anyone with aspergers who has experienced intrusive voices in their head? My teenage son is troubled by this at the moment and I would like to find out whether anyone else with aspergers or HFA has experienced this. Thank you."

---------------------------------------------------------

Man måste ju som orolig förälder få fråga, men jävlar vad arg jag blir när det dyker upp svar som detta nedan, som sprider ut en massa missinformation om vad som är Aspergers. Förvisso tror ju Charlene på fullaste allvar på det hon skriver, så det är egentligen inte hennes fel att det blir så här fel, men det riskerar ju att ge Aspergers syndrom, som redan är en väldigt missförstådd diagnos med ett oförtjänt dåligt rykte, ett ännu sämre rykte.

-----------------------------------------------------------


Charlene: I'm 21 and i have aspergers as well, and i hear voices. If i dont keep my mind active i hear them more. they tell me to do bad things, harm myself and others, but when they get really bad they tell me ways to kill people. i know this sounds bad, but i found a way to control it. I am a writer, i write horror stories so i channel what the voices say into my writing and it helps a lot.

my doctors know of this and i am not schizophrenic, its just apart of the aspergers. the best way to deal with this is to keep your mind active, by that i mean do what you enjoy. (i love reading, doctor who, and writing, so i spend my days doing just that, i read a lot, and i write all day and i watch doctor who 24-7)

when the voices get bad you just have to deal with it but dont do anything they say. its like a shadow we have that we have to deal with, sometimes we can see our shadow and other times we cant, but its there. there are meds to help, i dont take any though, i tried but none worked.

the best advice anyone can give you is to keep your mind active, if you like video games, play them, if you like sports, play them, join a team. whatever makes you happy and your mind busy. even thinking can help. just make sure they never get too bad. it is my personal belief that as an aspie, we are all high functioning sociopaths, but not all of us are. dont get me wrong here, for us aspies who deal with voices, we are high functioning sociopaths, theres nothing bad about it. it just means our brain is hardwired differently even from other aspies.

-----------------------------------------------------------


Jessy: I'm guessing it probably matters what the voices are saying ... whether he's hearing them as his own voice - or as another person / persona, how he responds to them, what he believes about them etc ect... if these voices are changing his behaviour etc etc... I have Aspergers and I have my OWN (usually) negative thoughts in my head, which I can't really control ... when I had a 'breakdown' I used to say it was like instead of 'normally' having one 'line' to the 'devil' and another 'line' to 'God' it was like I had ONLY a permanent 'hotline' to the 'Devil' ... but I wasn't being entirely 'literal' ... I knew the voices were my own - it's just that the balance of positive vs negative thoughts was WAY outa whack ... and anyway, I was hospitalised during this time in a Psych ward - and they decided ALL I had was Anxiety/Depression issues - nothing 'sinister' ... BUT best get checked by a GOOD Psych who is ALSO knowlegable in ASD

-----------------------------------------------------------

Tobias: that MIGHT be schizophrenia if he is hearing voices which aren't there there is no reason why he couldn't have both sorry if i scared you but if thats the case i would have him checked about that as its common for schizophrenia to develop during adolescence

-----------------------------------------------------------


Marie: that has nothing to do with aspergers I'm going to be blunt I'm not trying to hurt feelings but this pisses me off! hearing voices that tell you to do things ARE NOT ASPERGERS I'm tired of people saying certain things are bc of aspergers when they aren't!!!! aspergers doesn't mean they are crazy doesn't mean they turn out violent doesn't mean they will kill someone!! having an imaginary friend is ok and normal and different that what the op is talking about, having songs stuck in your head is normal has nothing to do with any diagnosis!! people with aspergers are not violent they do not grow up to be!!!! people can have aspergers and also other diagnoses that have those traits!!!!

-----------------------------------------------------------

Jag: I am an aspie myself and I know that all aspies are unique and different from eachother, while sharing certain traits, but I still refuse to acknowledge that "hearing voices inside your head" is part of Asd as it clearly has nothing to do with autism spectrum disorder. I base this on the fact that i have read 4 or 5 books about Asd (among them Tony Attwoods brilliant "The complete guide to Aspergers syndrome") and that I have never encountered this on any list of aspie-traits, nor any chapters about "hearing voices".

What I have no problem with acknowledging though, is that Schizophrenia can be a side diagnosis beside Asd, because that much is proved.

I find it very upsetting that there are unprofessional doctors out there who claims that hearing voices in the head is not Schizophrenia but instead Asd, and that they even have managed to brainwash parents and aspies alike into believing it!

...

Jag (igen)@Stacy: Possibly, but Asd and Schizophrenia must not be mixed together and fused into one diagnose. I think that would be very wrong, unfortunate and hurtful for the Aspie-community as a whole if Asd was also associated with "hearing voices inside your head". We have plenty enough traits as there is.

Aspies can have obsessive thoughts, but that is not the same thing as Schizophrenia. Hearing your own voice inside your head is not Schizophrenia. Hearing other voices inside your head on the other hand, I'd say would qualify.


Jag (igen!): Ok, so I opened up Tony Attwood's book "The complete guide to Asperger's syndrome" and searched for anything relating to schizophrenia in the register in the back, and found a little here and there. To summarize it, I'll translate my swedish edition into english as well as I can.

"We have yet to determine the actual correlation between Asperger Syndrome and Schizophrenia, but currently there is no evidence in psychiatric science litterature, that schizophrenia is more commen with people that has Asperger's syndrome than within the general population."

Also I read in the book that many doctors and psychiatrists in the world confuse Aspergians often vivid imagination and ability to create their own inner fantasy worlds and such, with schizophrenia. So clearly this is a widespead problem when it comes to diagnosis.

Attwood's explaination to why some people are wrongly diagnosed with Schizophrenia instead of Asd, is that the doctors tend to ask the questions the wrong way in interviews, since many aspies take things litterary. One example:

- Do you hear voices?
- Yes.

The aspie may translate the question as if the interviewer wonders if he/she can hear voices in general, not specifically inside his/her own head. To answer "Yes" to that question may also refer to each and everyones own inner personal voice. That shouldn't be confused with, nor be compared with, hearing other people's voices, or unknown voices in your head telling you what to do. The problem is that some aspie teens doesn't realize that they do have an own inner personal voice, which makes them wrongly believe that they in fact are schizophrenical.
-----------------------------------------------------------


Fan att man ska behöva informera om sånt här. Men det är bara att fortsätta tills det går in hos folk...

Schizofreni är sin egna diagnos och har _ingen_ korrelation med Aspergers! Eventuella tvångstankar som aspergare kan lida utav är inte schizofreni heller. Däremot så är det fullt möjligt för en person som har Asd att även ha Schizofreni, men Schizofrenin har alltså inte större förekomst hos folk inom autismspektrumet än det har hos övriga befolkningen.


/Cassow

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0